

Second World Summit on Accreditation (WOSA 2014) March 8 to 10, 2014, The Ashok Hotel, New Delhi



World Summit on Accreditation (WOSA) 2014, the second in WOSA series of biennial conferences, was held at The Ashok Hotel, New Delhi from 8th to 10th March, 2014. The theme of the summit was "International Recognition of Educational Qualifications", with the following sub-themes:

- International Recognition of Profession Qualifications;
- Harmonization in Accreditation Practices;
- Bridging Academia and Industry;
- © Outcome Assessment Tools; and
- Role of Government and Public Policy in Accreditation.

The Summit was inaugurated by Shri Ashok Thakur, IAS, Secretary (HE), MHRD. Prof. R. Natarajan, Former Chairman, AICTE was the Guest of Honour. Dr. Michael K.J. Milligan, Executive Director, ABET, delivered the address and released the Sovenier. Prof. Surendra Prasad, Chairman, NBA delivered the Welcome Address and introduced WOSA 2014. Dr. Anil Kumar Nassa, Member Secretary, NBA, delivered the vote of thanks. WOSA 2014 consisted of two Plenary Sessions, four Technical Sessions on Engineering and Management (parallel) and fifth Technical Session on "Role of Government and Public Policy in Accreditation". 12 International and 26 National Keynote Speakers delivered their addresses on the theme and sub-theme of the Summit. About 700 delegates and invitees from educational institutions, professional bodies, central and state Government Departments / organisations attended the Summit.

Plenary Session I: Welcome and Introduction of Speakers

Chairperson: Padma Shri Dr. M. Anandakrishnan, Chairman, Board of Governors, IIT Kanpur

Speakers: Dr. Hans Hoyer, Secretary General, IFEES, Fairfax, VA, USA and Executive Secretary, GEDC; Dr.Kai Sang Lock, Engineering Accreditation Board, Institute of Engineers, Singapore; and Shri Pawan Agarwal, Advisor (Higher Education), Planning Commission, GOI.

Technical Session IA (Engineering): International Recognition of Professional Qualifications

Keynote Speakers: Prof. S.K. Khanna, Former Chairman, AICTE; Dr. Michael K.J. Milligan, Executive Director, ABET; Prof. Seeram Ramakrishna, Vice President Research Strategy, NUS, Singapore; Prof. Rolin Sidwell, Commissioner, Commission for Academic Accreditation (CAA), United Arab Emirates; Dr. Bhadri Raju, M S V S Professor of Computer Science & Engg., S.R.K.R. Engineering College; and Dr. K G Viswanandhan, Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, NSS College of Engineering, Palakkad.

Session IB: Management

Keynote Speakers: Prof. Krishna S. Dhir, Dean, College of Business & Economics, University of Hawaii, USA; Prof. Devi Singh, Director, IIM Lucknow; Prof. B.S. Sahay, Director, IIM Raipur; Ms. Sushma Berlia, Chancellor & Co-founder, Apeejay Stya University, Gurgaon; and Dr. Ravindranath Nayak, Advisor to Director & Head, Electronics and Aerospace Division, NAL.

Technical Session IIA: Engineering - Harmonization in Accreditation Practices

Keynote Speakers: Prof. Surendra Prasad, Chairman, NBA; Padma Shri Prof. K.L. Chopra, Former Director, IIT Kharagpur; Dr. Iring Wasser, President, European Network for Accreditation of Engineering Education, Belgium; Dr. Bulent Ozguler, Bilkent University, Electrical and Electronics Engineering Department, Ankara, Turkey; Dr. Sibamay Dasgupta, Principal, Calcutta Institute of Engineering & Management, Kolkata; and Mr. Onkar Bagaria, Research Scholar, Birla Institute of Technology and Science, Pilani.

Technical Session IIB: Engineering / Management

Keynote Speakers: Dr. R. Murugesan, President, ISTE; Prof. Jeffrey W Fergus, Professor, Auburn University; Prof. Ajay Khare, Director, SPA, Bhopal; Dr. M P Vijayakumar, IAS (Retd.); Dr. Sujit Gajananrao Metre, Director, Datta Meghe Institute of Management Studies, Nagpur; and Dr. Rajendran Raju, Professor, Department, of Management, Sri Ramakrishna Institute of Technology, Coimbatore.

Plenary Session II: Welcome and Introduction of Speakers

Chairperson: Dr. R. Natarajan, Former Chairman, AICTE & Former Director, IIT Madras.

Speakers: Prof. D.P. Agrawal, Chairman UPSC, New Delhi; and Shri Suresh Mhatre, Vice President, TCS.

Technical Session IIIA: Engineering - Bridging Academia and Industry

Keynote Speakers: Prof. S.C. Sahasrabudhe, Director, DAIICT, Gandhinagar; Dr. Geogory Prastacos, Dean, Wesley J. Howe School of Technology Management, Stevens Institute of Technology, Hoboken, NJ,USA; Prof. R.K. Shevgaonkar, Director, IIT Delhi; Dr. Balasubramani R, Professor & Head, Dept. of Information Sci. & Engg., NMAM Institute of Technology, Nitte, Karnataka; Dr. Sunitha Abburu, Professor and Director, Dept. of Computer Applications, Adhiyamaan College of Engineering, Hosur, Tamil Nadu; and Prof. Palanikumar K, Professor and Principal, Sri Sai Institute of Technology, Chennai.

Technical Session – IIIB: Engineering / Management

Keynote Speakers: Prof. Prafulla Agnihotri, Director, IIM Trichy; Dr. Anil D. Sahasrabudhe, Director, College of Engineering, Pune; Shri Ashok Basa, President, The Institution of Engineering (India); Dr. Paramjit Kaur Tulsi, Professor,

Department of Education & Educational Management, NITTTR, Chandigarh; Prof. K.K. Puranik, Director, RKDF Institute of Science & Technology, Bhopal; and Ms. Astha Shukla, Corporate Executive, Meghe Group of Institutions, Nagpur.

Technical Session IVA: Engineering - Outcome Assessment Tools

Keynote Speakers: Dr. D.N. Reddy, Chairman, RAC, DRDO; Dr. Robin King, Engineers Australia Accreditation Board Australia; Prof. Ashok Saxena, VC, Galgotia University, Greater Noida; and Ms. Vaishali B. Mungurwadi, Director, Laxmi, Institute of Technology, Valsad, Gujarat.

Technical Session IVB: Engineering / Management

Keynote Speakers: Padma Shri Dr. Pritam Singh, Director General, IMI, New Delhi; Prof. Martin Henson, Dean for International Affair, University of Essex, Colchester, Essex, UK; Dr. Raj Agrawal, Director (CME), AIMA, New Delhi; and Prof. Ezhilan Saami, Jayam College of Engineering and Technology, Dharamapuri, Tamil Nadu.

Technical Session V: Role of Government and Public Policy in Accreditation

Speakers: Shri Ashok Thakur, IAS, Secretary (HE), MHRD; Padma Shri Prof. R.B. Grover, Director, Homi Bhabha National Institute, Mumbai; Prof. S.S. Mantha, Chairman, AICTE; Prof. H. Devaraj, Vice Chairman, UGC; Prof. Surendra Prasad, Chairman, NBA; Dr. Avichal Kapoor, Chief Executive Officer & Director (Quality Assurance), Meghe Group of Institutions [MGI], Nagpur; and Dr. S. Ramachandran, Principal, Jayam College of Engineering and Technology, Dharamapuri, Tamil Nadu.

Shri Ashok Thakur, IAS, Secretary (HE), MHRD was the Chief Guest during the Valedictory Function. Prof. Shevgaonkar, Director, IIT Delhi was the Guest of Honour. Dr. Avichal Kapoor, Director (Quality Assurance) and CEO, Meghe Group of Institutions, Nagpur presented a brief report on the proceedings of the Summit. Prof. Surendra Prasad, Chairman, NBA chaired the session and delivered the concluding remarks. Dr. Anil Kumar Nassa, Member Secretary, NBA proposed a vote of thanks.